Feu Follet

Feu Follet

Down in the old South, deep in the bayou,
Old banyan trees rustle in the dank air.
Stars of Aquarius come into view,
Strange voices whisper their tales of despair.

From the darkness rose a small ball of light,
Magical orbs swirling before my eyes.
A feu follet glowing, fiery and white;
Paranormal renderings in the sky.

Tear up the roadmaps and follow them blind
Across the ghostly marshes where they dwell.
Just leave your hopes for redemption behind,
For they are whisking you straight into hell.

All across the swamp lands, tears will be shed
As Cajun spirits rise up from the dead.

Colleen Keller Breuning © 2022
November 5, 2022

Mood: mysterious
Inspiration “Alva” by Glen Gabriel

Happy Saturday! I started writing this Shakespearean Sonnet last Sunday afternoon as we started our drive back home to Virginia. I don’t know exactly where this came from. Maybe it was inspiration from the Florida and Georgia swamps that we drove by? I started to google paranormal occurrences and somehow landed on an article about the Feu Follet. This seems to be a French twist on the “will-o’-the-wisp” that appears in fairy tales. The picture I used was entitled “The Will o’ the Wisp and the Snake” by Hermann Hendrich (1854–1931). I found it quite fascinating reading about the legends folklore of difference countries. It’s so much fun to learn new things! Here is the Wikiepedia article and another one to read a bit more:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Will-o%27-the-wisp#Americas

I don’t know why this link is embedding this way – and I’m too lazy and tired to fix it!

We had a very long and nice vacation in Florida, but toward the end were feeling a little homesick and missing our cats. We had much more energy at the start of the trip. Disney was so fun with the grandkids, but it leaves you pretty tired! After that, we enjoyed chilling and fishing with Vince and Natalie.  At one point we toyed with the idea of driving home straight through… but it’s a 14 hour drive from where they live. Actually we have done that a few times, but we end up getting home very late. However, this time we were too darn tired and decided to stop in Dunn, NC for the night. That was a smart move, we still got home at a decent hour early on Halloween.

Then it was back to work for me, and I ended up working very long days all week to get caught up on the client work that I missed. I swear, both of us felt like we had “car lag” or something. Our energy levels were depleted, and we just felt “off” or like we might have gotten a touch of some virus. This weekend I feel like I’m catching a cold, which I pray doesn’t turn into a sinus infection. *fingers crossed*

I do wish the weather would quit being so schizophrenic! The autumn leaves are now past their peak, many of our backyard trees are bare and right now it is 78 degrees in VA, which just seems weird. I am ready for the weather to be a little cooler, as much as most people hate to hear. I mean, it is November 5th for crying out loud, LOL!! I just love curling up in a cozy sweater beside the fire reading a book. I guess today I’ll settle for a long sleeved shirt until the temperature drops, haha. I hope y’all have a great weekend and enjoy the autumn season wherever you are!

Xoxo Colleen

Ecrits Blogophilia Week 18.14 Topic: Paranormal Occurrence
Hard Bonus: Use the word “tear” twice – as a noun and a verb
Easy Bonus: Include a zodiac sign
(Aquarius)

4 Comments

  1. Love this Colleen…the whimsical words you weave for us always conjure a true atmosphere!! One that spurs inspiration and a clear visual. Love it!!!

  2. Rebecca G says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful vacation. The weather here in New England is crazy too. We have the windows open to enjoy some fresh air before the snow starts flying, but it feels odd lol. Love the sonnet. 🙂 Blessings.

  3. A very cool sonnet indeed. But did you know those glowing orbs can also be aliens of the Martian kind? KUDOS to you, Earthling!

Leave a Comment